The Responsive Organisation

Experiencing the Network effect

Luke Grange

--

My plane landed late in Sydney. I didn’t have long before my meeting with one of our large Yammer banking customers. The Taxi driver sped through the back streets taking care not to break any traffic laws but he had heard my plea to get there as quickly as he could. I was taking a Microsoft partner into the bank to help provide an innovative way to deliver Yammer network analytics and I needed to see their presentation 30 minutes before the client did with a rendezvous at a cafe in the base of the customers building …. You know what I mean.

As the taxi pulled up at the curb side I was filled with an appreciation for him getting me there on time. His Mercedes had provided one of the quietest and most comfortable Taxi rides I had had in a while allowing me to arrange an upcoming New Zealand road tip itinerary with Amex travel on the phone in comfort all the way.

As he pulled up to the curb I gathered my thoughts and prepared in my mind what expectations I had for the partner pitch in order to provide measured feedback. The appreciation for the ride swelled again and I thought it only right I let the taxi driver know. “You have such a comfortable taxi and thank you for getting me here on time,” I said. He reached back and gave me a pen he had strategically placed near the gear stick. “Its my pleasure he said,” as he handed me the pen. “My name and number are engraved on this pen if you ever need my services again.” I took the pen and dashed out the taxi and into the café. All good. I had arrived on time and the analytics partner arrived just as I did. As I sat down I had a sinking feeling and realised something was missing? I had left my bag with my computer in the Taxi. All I had was the pen that the driver had handed me. Simple you would say just call the number on the pen. I took the pen out my pocket and looked at it while trying to explain my predicament to the partner who was unfolding his laptop on the table and ordering coffee. The pen read in clear letters FaithBaptist — Number: 9799-5959 and no the FaithBaptist is not an Australian cab company. The taxi driver had clearly handed me the wrong pen ….. so much was going through my mind but in true ‘Stay calm and Yammer on’ fashion I was not to going to panic.

What the heck I’ll call the number on the pen and see where it takes me. “Hello …. FaithBaptist Church,” the voice on the other side of the line said. I replied, “A taxi just dropped me off in the city of Sydney and I left my bag in the back.” A muffled “O,” was the reply and I expected the phone to go dead, but no. “We have a few taxi drivers in our congregation let me see if I can help you,” he said. My Yammer Customer Network (YCN) community experience was kicking in and I knew I must set some context to help the person on the other side of the line …. Whoever this might be. “He was driving a Mercedes,” I said and “I think it was silver.” “Silver,” then a silence from the other side of the line. “Yes silver,” I said. “It’s probably a SilverTop taxi,” came the response, then ….. “I think I may know who in the congregation that may be. Please stay on the line while I call him.” I could hear the person dialling on what could only have been a mobile phone on the other side. “George,” I heard, “Did you just drop someone off in the city? …… Then could you check your back seat for a bag.” The person came back on the line with me; “George has your bag and will meet you in 5 minutes where he dropped you off to give you the bag.” “Thank you,” I said with relief and immediately engaged with the partner to focus on him taking me through the presentation. 5 minutes later George pulled up outside and I ran out to get the bag. He handed me a pen with his name and number on which made me smile and then my bag. It felt good to be reunited.

So what actually happened here? There was a network involved and it was the Faithbaptist community. I am not asking you to join the Church all I am asking you to do is to think of your organization as a community or congregation for a second. I avoided a large amount of angst and rework as a result of getting my bag with laptop, clothes etc. Yes I am an idiot for leaving it in the taxi and I know you have been thinking that all along. But for a moment consider the ramifications and how easily the issues were overcome as a result of me connecting with a node in an existing network in such a responsive manner with the subject matter expert or taxi driver in this case. I saved hours of time and all because I plugged myself into a network and communicated.

The parallels with yammer are profound. Each time our customers open Yammer they tap into their existing network and extended networks which can allow them to connect with people they may never have met or may never meet but will put them in touch with people who can provide answers and help them make decision and save them time. Everyday Yammer is providing a platform and channel for our customers to solve problems, make decisions, provide a knowledge base and connect experts with those in need of expertise.

--

--

Luke Grange

To share is to love, passionate about Open Innovation and collaborative solutions, Helping organisations capitalise on trust by engaging in a transparent manner